Manga purchases in September 2013

The largest chunk of my new manga this September was the complete set of Nisekoi volumes. I’ve already covered Nisekoi in another post, so in this one I will focus on the other new volumes from the rest of the series I collect.

I had two large packages and one smaller envelope sent to me. In total they contained 23 books, so this was a good month for me. Here follows my list of buys:

  • Fairy Tail 39
  • Gintama 2-4
  • Mutou Black first half
  • Nanatsu no Taizai 4
  • Naruto 66
  • Nisekoi 1-8
  • Saiki Kusuo no Sainan 0
  • Saiki Kusuo no Sainan 2
  • Saiki Kusuo no Sainan 6
  • Shokugeki no Soma 4
  • Smoky B.B. 1
  • Soul Catcher(s) 1
  • World Trigger 2
  • Yamada-kun to Nananin no Majo 8

Manga purchases in September 2013

As you can see, I gave Gintama a shot. I had been searching for a new series to collect, one which could have run for a bit longer than just 7-8 volumes. The reason for this might seem strange: from time to time I need a series to fill in a couple of spots in an order I’m placing. I usually strive to make either 4 or 15 tankobon-sized orders, and if for instance I get 5 new JC manga, 4 new KC and another series of 4 books in total, I have two available spots in that order. When I was busy collecting One Piece, Naruto or Sket Dance, the books I was missing from those series could fill up free spaces. I don’t have a series like that right now though, hence the Gintama experiment. I already possess volume 1 and I have read it more than once. I like it, but I wasn’t sure whether I would like to spend money buying a 50 volumes series that would take me a couple of years, if not more, to read through. Well, I hope volume 2, 3 and 4 will be enough to decide it.

I have a buying plan for the next three months, but I’ll make a separate post about that.

September brought new volumes of the three most important Kodansha manga for me. I’m glad that I still buy some titles from Kodansha. Two years ago I bought mainly Kodansha and only rarely any Shueisha series — that has changed completely and now it’s the total opposite.

Yamada-kun to Nananin no Majo collection

Yamada-kun to Nananin no Majo has slipped out of my weekly reading list, so I’m not up to date with the story anymore. From what I can deduce, Yamada-kun has had a “live action TV series” adaptation which has recently started airing in Japan. How big of a sales boost the manga will get from this I’m not sure, but let’s hope the live action series will have success so that it can help the manga continue as well. The author’s other work, Yankee-kun to Megane-chan, is on my list of titles I consider buying in the future.

Here you can see a trailer for the Yamada-kun live action TV series. Further down is an animated Yamada video. It is made by Liden Films and portrays how a Yamada-kun anime would probably look. Many of the scenes are of course taken directly from the manga. As I never watch neither live action nor anime, it doesn’t matter so much to me, only for the purpose of good adaptations to influence the manga’s popularity in a positive fashion. Perhaps they are appealing to you?

The three new summer series in Weekly Shonen Jump — Soul Catcher(s), Smoky B.B. and Mutou Black — all had their first books published this month. As Smoky B.B. and Mutou Black have both ended already, it’s only Soul Catcher(s) that’s a real commitment, I only need one more book from the two cancelled titles to complete their sets.

Smoky B.B. Soul Catcher(s) Mutou Black volume 1

I have already read Smoky B.B. and Soul Catcher(s). There’s no reason to fight for Smoky anymore, but having gone through Soul Catcher(s)’s first printed volume I feel, if it’s not incredibly interesting, at least it’s something else and far from the usual shonen formula.

As hinted above, my next post will be about my manga plans for the rest of 2013, so stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Purchases and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Manga purchases in September 2013

  1. kure says:

    I now live vicariously through your manga purchases.

  2. warren says:

    Hey, if you find time can you please please please review volume 4 of nanatsu no taizai 🙂

Leave a Reply

