Manga purchases in May 2013

Today I received my fourth package for May, sent on the 16th of May from Japan, as it contained tankobon collecting series from Weekly Shonen Magazine which are always published around the 17th of the month.

I have bought a lot this month, so I will have to cut back a bit next month. The main reason for my buying spree for May is the favourable exchange rate the Japanese Yen is affected by, which made me buy almost the entire Naruto backlog I had. I owned 1-20 and 64, but after my purchases I own 1-58 and 64.

Manga purchases in May 2013 2

 

This picture shows the majority of what I received — of course I had to forget three books from my buying list to include in the photo. Check out the list and see for yourself which manga I also bought:

  • Chotto Morimashita 1
  • Dr. Duo 5 (Series ended)
  • Fairy Tail 37
  • Majimoji Rurumo Makai-hen 4 (Series ended)
  • Nanatsu no Taizai 2
  • Naruto 21-58
  • Shinmai Fukei Kiruko-san 2
  • Sket Dance 21-28
  • Slime-san to Yuusha Kenkyuubu 2
  • Yamada-kun to 7-nin no Majo 6

Of new releases, Shueisha only had one, Shinmai Fukei Kiruko-san volume 2, a series which is now cancelled and will soon release its third and ultimate volume. From Kodansha, I bought some released in April and some in May. From now on I will make one order which will ship in the beginning of the month, containing Jump tankobon, and another order shipping in the middle of the month, containing Kodansha tankobon.

Majimoji Rurumo Makai-hen complete collectionThe above photo shows the complete collection of Majimoji Rurumo Makai-hen, as it ended with volume 4. I haven’t read the original Majimoji Rurumo, but I enjoyed the first three volumes of Makai-hen nonetheless.

Below I have taken a picture of what is now a complete collection of Dr. Duo, an absolutely great series in Weekly Shonen Magazine. Unfortunately, the readers can’t have enjoyed it as much as I have enjoyed reading the tankobon, so it has already ended in five volumes.

Dr Duo complete collection

 

In June, my Naruto collection will be up to date as well, as I have ordered the remaining five books. I also jumped on the Shingeki no Kyojin wagon and ordered 1-7 and the Shingeki no Kyojin high school book. Can’t wait to get those as well!

For the time being I am reading Fairy Tail, currently on book 32. I will interrupt Fairy Tail with Dr. Duo 5, Slime-san to Yuusha Kenkyuubu 2 and Chotto Morimashita 1 of course, but soon I will be up to date in the actual story of Fairy Tail too, I look very much forward to that.

 

This entry was posted in Purchases and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Manga purchases in May 2013

  1. Kowski says:

    Always love these kind of posts. I’m a huge book collector as well and just got into buying Japanese manga a couple of month ago. Honto is really a blessing for those of us who don’t live in Japan. Though I’m not that keen on Jump manga I may try a volume of Sket Dance. You’re always writing so favorably of it that I should at least try to read the first volume. Keep up the good work and maybe you want to check my blog about Japanese culture, arts and books! as well ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.japanesetease.net

    Kind regards from a fellow book-lover!

    • chringle says:

      Hi Kowski.
      I love purchase posts as well, that’s why I write them, so other people can get some of their buying addiction satisfied like I do ๐Ÿ™‚
      I enjoy seeing the books on the shelf, especially when they are of the same series.
      Now that you don’t really read Jump, what do you prefer instead? KC? I like Jump and Kodansha Comics the same, but I haven’t gotten into Weekly Shonen Sunday manga, so I don’t buy any of those. I read a couple of series in Monthly Dragon Age as well.
      Yes, give Sket Dance a go, you’ll quickly see if it’s something for you. It’s not easy to read though. But I suppose your Japanese is probably much better than mine ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. KuroAshi98 says:

    Hey man, it’s the guy who works for the Shinmai Fukei Kiruko-san wiki again. I’m so sad that the series has ended already, but I’m still going to try and make a site for the information. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just need the volume information again. What chapters it covers, volume name (both Japanese and English) and it’s release date if you know it~! Thank you for your help!

  3. chringle says:

    Hi KuroAshi! Here follows the information you requested: The volume name is ใ‚ฑใƒซใƒ™ใƒญใใ‚“ใจใ‚ตใ‚คใ‚ฏใƒญๅญใกใ‚ƒใ‚“ (Keruberokun to Saikurokochan / “Cerberus-kun and Cycloko-chan”). The volume is named after chapter 12. Volume 2 contains chapters 8-16, and it was published on the 7th of May 2013. Now that I read the second volume, I am so sad that it was cancelled quickly. Hope you have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

